In order to prevent this from happening, we suggest using the Facebook Connect feature. This will automatically back up your progress to Facebook, so you won't accidentally lose your data.
We also recommend taking a screenshot of your User ID which can be found on the bottom of your Settings Menu and keeping it in a safe place! Your User ID is a combination of letters and numbers and can be found under the "Save Progress" button. If you get new device or lose your data, you can send your ID into us and we can look into recovering your progress.
IMPORTANT NOTE: Facebook Connect requires an internet connection to back-up and recover your progress.